My “Month of Barre”

It’s hard to believe that today was my “last day” of my “month of barre!”  To say I enjoyed this new (to me) format would be a total understatement.  Once a heavy-lifting-only snob who would roll my eyes at the suggestion of “barre workouts,” you can officially call me a convertYep, I said it.  In the 5 weeks I’ve been doing barre classes – pretty much exclusively (5-6 classes per week), I can honestly say that I can both SEE changes physically (hello abs, booty, arms, legs…everything!) and FEEL changes mentally/emotionally.  I started these barre classes at the very beginning of a pretty tricky personal storm & for those of you who know me well, you know this “storm” hasn’t quite passed.  That said I’m a huge believer in all things happening for a reason & I’m convinced that God knew what I needed physically AND emotionally….it wasn’t more heavy lifting, it was B Present Studio & barre classes.  I’ll give you 3 reasons why:

  1.  The instructors:  If you’ve been to B Present, you also know about their amazing team of instructors, lead by fearless owner Tammy Weisweaver.  These ladies are such gifts – each with different words of wisdom, encouragement & stories.  Yes, they TALK throughout the entire class (again, something new to me).  You wouldn’t believe the “real talk” we’re blessed to hear.  I definitely leave class feeling a little less “crazy” and maybe not like I’m the only one struggling through an uncomfortable time.  I also leave feeling a little more optimistic – like, hey, I got this – the storm WILL pass, or my problems really aren’t THAT bad.  Like I always tell my kids “Hey, it could be worse!”  That’s truth.
  2. The workouts:  B Present offers 3 different barre workout formats (all total body):  Barre Beautiful (60 minutes) – more of a “traditional” barre class –  low impact, yet high intensity + high reps, Barre Bootcamp (60 minutes) – high impact thanks to 2 “cardio” bursts plus high intensity + high rep moves, and Barre Basics (45 minutes) – a “starting point” to barre moves, but nothing short of intense & total body “changing.”  Of course I’ve taken all 3 of these formats and while Barre Beautiful is probably my personal favorite (as a cardio-hater), I know how beneficial both Barre Bootcamp and Barre Basics are as well.  I left each of these formats feeling like I had gotten a TOTAL body workout – we hit every muscle group & those muscles FELT it on to the next (and the next) day!  I probably laughed when I saw that 3lb weights were part of the “toys” we were to use in classes – that was, until I actually USED those 3lb weights and felt just how HEAVY they can quickly feel when you are doing about a million reps!  Other (deathly) toys used are circle bands, long bands & balls.  I’m definitely fearful of the circle band – it causes immediate pain & agony, but is OH so GOOD for those glutes!  Another thing about these workouts that is a breath of fresh air to me is the fact that I actually LOOK FORWARD to coming to class.  Yep, no dread when it comes to barre classes.  I had started grumbling about my workouts before barre, so this was a sure sign that I was in the right place!  Done with a class – and, already looking forward to the next one!  YES!!!!! 
  3. The “gals” / community:  I need to start this segment out with a HUGE thank you to my girlfriend Libby.  Shortly after my surgery back in December I met up with Libby for a brunch & she suggested that I ease back into exercising with barre classes.  I admit I was definitely interested (even then I knew I needed a change), but at the same time I was a liiiiiitle intimidated by trying a studio that was established & probably already had its own little “community” of women.  I would tell Libby I’d join her, but then never follow through UNTIL news of B Present opening.  For some reason the fact that B Present was brand spanking new, made it a little more comfortable for me to “try.”  So, when Libby decided to make the “switch” & try B Present, I went with her…..and then brought more friends (including my mom – who LOVED it), reconnected with a few old ones & made new ones.  B Present is thriving with a huge community of AMAZING & STRONG women!  New to barre?  No way you’d feel intimidated about trying here.  Even when I can’t wrangle a workout buddy to join me, I’ve had no issues attending a class “by myself” because I know that there will be someone I either already know or might meet for the first time there.  Group fitness is where it’s at – always.  Why workout (or eye roll) alone?

(I know that some of you are reading this thinking – is she going to quit after her month?  Why just 1 month if she loves it so much?  Taking our “storm” into consideration, I have to hold out – sadly.  There are many things that are “up in the air” for us right now & making a commitment to just about anything (unfortunately) is impossible.  I’m looking forward to B Present’s Wine & Barre event next Thursday (9/7) at Daniel’s Vineyard & then their Grand Opening weekend workouts on Saturday (9/9).  Those will have to carry me over until I can decide when & how to move forward.  I mean, the storm will eventually pass, right?  Until then….you know I’ll be moving this booty in some way or another.  Exercise therapy is the real deal, friends!)

Fishers friends – If you’re craving a new workout format that you WON’T DREAD, one you’ll actually leave feeling REFRESHED both physically and mentally afterwards – be sure to check B Present Studio out!  You will NOT be sorry!

xoxo – Jamie

 

Leave a comment