Weekend Recap: The Memorial Tournament

What a GREAT weekend it was here!!  The hubs and I got away, kid-free, for 2 days thanks to my brother & sister-in-law (who let them stay over both Friday & Saturday nights).  As you know, I bought my hubby tickets to the Memorial Tournament in Dublin, Ohio for his birthday.  We LOVE attending professional golf tournaments together, so I knew this gift would be a good one!

We dropped the kiddies (and pizzas) off with my sister-in-law on Friday evening since we had planned on getting an early start to Ohio on Saturday morning.  On the way home, we picked up a few different kinds of shish kabobs from The Fresh Market (chicken, steak & sausage) & enjoyed those on the deck with some tunes and a glass of wine.  I had (over)packed earlier in the day, so when we went to bed that night (early), all I had were several episodes of House of Cards waiting for me!  The hubs, on the other hand, easily grabbed a few things & he was set!  Men!  Here’s a look at my suitcase…full of things I wouldn’t wear!  So typical!  We had no problems getting up early on Saturday as we were both excited to get to Ohio & get out on the course.  We knew we had a gorgeous, but very warm day ahead of us (so thankful for NO RAIN)!!!  We made it to Dublin in under 3 hours with our one Starbucks stop (for Cold Brew, of course!)!  We picked up our parking passes & were lucky enough to park inside the Muirfield Village neighborhood & walk right onto the 12th green!  I always stress about parking at events like this, and we really lucked out with those resident guest parking passes!  So, just like that, we were in and ON the course before 10:30am!  We celebrated by finding the “Golden Bear Club” (another perk of our tickets) & picked up 2 cocktails (Bloody Mary for the mister & a mimosa for the lady)!  Oh, and look who else I quickly found inside the Golden Bear Club – – Tiger!  A photo opportunity I could not pass up!  (Note, too, how I am wearing my traditional golf tournament outfit:  black tank, white shorts & camo Havianas flip flops!)  While I am super directionally challenged, I did manage to marry my own personal compass, so Chris and I hit all the good spots on the course in no time!  We caught up with Phil on the driving range:The Muirfield Village course is easily one of the most beautiful courses I’ve seen: We trekked, watched & enjoyed the tournament for over 5 hours, during which we walked over 7 miles!  Phew!  It’s safe to say that by 3pm, we were both exhausted…..and starving.  I forgot to mention that my hubby is back on his ever-reliable low carb diet, so picking something to eat while at the course was definitely challenging.  We picked up a (very) overpriced bag of mixed nuts, and that was it!  Eeek!  We stayed at the Embassy Suites in Dublin & once we were back at the hotel, we vegged for a bit while trying to decide where to go for dinner Saturday night (I told you we were starving)!!!  After lots of searching we decided on a cute place called Napa Kitchen & Bar.  As soon as we walked in I knew we had made the right decision – this place was warm, welcoming & decorated with hundreds of bottles of wine!  My kind of place, for sure!  The menu was full of things we love from small plates to wood fired flatbread pizzas to steak & seafood main courses.  We decided drinks (a white blend for me & a vodka cocktail for the hubs) & then on the crab cakes (for an appetizer) with a whole grain mustard glaze, carrot jalapeno slaw, caper remoulade & fresh cilantro.  The dinner entrée was a difficult decision, but in the end I went with Sesame Orange Glazed Salmon & Chris had Beef Short Ribs.  Both dishes were AMAZING & JUST what the doctor ordered for two starved people!  Haha!  While we were at dinner, pro golfer Kevin Chappell, his caddy & manager were sitting across the bar from us!  At first glance I admit I thought it was Dustin Johnson, but upon further review, we figured out who it was exactly!  Loved seeing him enjoying a relaxing dinner after a day on the course!  We had big plans of heading somewhere for after dinner drinks (and scenery), but after the long day we had, we ended up calling in lame & heading back to the hotel!  We joked about what old people we are becoming!  We always used to find it in us to go out!  My how things have changed!  (Oh, before I forget….in the pic above I’m sporting a new romper from Dottie Couture & I LOVE it!  Here’s a peek of what it looks like & a link to buy HERE !)   We were up early on Sunday morning & quickly rushed through the freebie breakfast at the hotel because…..coffee, of course!  Wouldn’t you know, too, we bumped into another golfer while at breakfast – Matt Kuchar & his kids were sitting not far from us!  How fun!  Apparently they appreciated a free breakfast complete with all you can eat bacon & made to order omelets too!

Before we knew it, we were back in Indy picking up the kiddies (who had a GREAT time with their aunt/uncle & sweet cousins)!  It was such a wonderful getaway with the hubs!  I knew we’d have a great time!  The cute city of Dublin did not disappoint, nor did the amazing weather, great company & gorgeous golf course!  It’s safe to say that we will be attending the Memorial again next year! 

It’s back to the grind today – gym, swim lessons, golf lessons, laundry & cleaning!  Only 8 days until we’re off on our next adventure…..in Florida!

Hope everyone had a GREAT weekend!  Cheers to a new, beautiful summer break week!

xoxo – Jamie

Leave a comment