What A (School) Year It’s Been!

The days are long, but the years are short.”   Nothing like a good cry at 5:30am, right?  I find myself hanging on to this saying more and more now that my kiddies are getting older.  It’s simple & oh so true.  As we zero in on the LAST day of this school year, how is it possible that I will have a 2nd and 4th grader?  Who pushed the fast forward button?  How the heck did we get here?  But then I REALLY think about it….how we managed to “get here..”  Let’s focus on this past school year because SO MUCH has happened since the kids (and I) started school last August.

  1.  I started working full time as the permanent substitute teacher at the kid’s school.
  2. Mac started 3rd grade & Parker started 1st grade.  Both kids were blessed with AMAZING teachers, so we know it’s going to be a great year for both of them!  Cheers for Mrs. Pedersen & Mrs. Harrison!  We love you!
  3. Our basement flooded & our ac/furnace died…..a little financial uncertainty ensues.  We power through (somehow)!  A shout out to all of my full time working mamas who manage crisis WHILE working.  It nearly crushed me.4.  We attend my cousin Victor’s wedding in Ohio…so thankful for the break it gave us! 5.  Chris and I attend one of our favorite golf tournaments – the BMW Championship (held here in Indy at Crooked Stick).  It was a GREAT day!6.  Both kids are rocking in school…..Mama is struggling with the not-so permanent side of her new job (being a perm sub means also being sent to other schools in the district if no subs are needed at your “home” school – that is NOT what I signed up for).  I power through….as always.7.  (Chris is in the process of selling his family business).  We take a fall break trip with the kids.  It was a lovely whirl-wind of Chicago’s finest crammed into 2 days.  We had a GREAT time.  Things are looking up!8.  We receive some devastating news before we head home from our Chicago trip – our friend Alan passed away.  This was 100% shocking & still brings me to tears every time I think about it.  Chris and I attend our first funeral together to say goodbye to a GREAT friend.  It (still) hurts.9.  We celebrate my 39th birthday at Maggianos AND Chris’ family sells their company.  This is HUGE news for our family!10.  We celebrate Mac’s 9th birthday.  He is the BEST 9 year old ever.  I couldn’t be more proud of him.  We also learn some HUGE news on this day…..we will SOON have a new nephew!   A GREAT surprise compliments of my brother & sister-in-law!  11.  We celebrate Mimi’s birthday  – talk about the very best of the best.  Mimi is life.  We love her SO very much!  12.  We make our annual trip to the Indianapolis Children’s Museum to visit Santa.  (Look how BIG Mac looks!)13.  I have an “elective” surgery.  Something I’ve wanted to do for over 10 years.  Wink, wink……14.  I recover & we do our annual holiday cookie baking. Parker was a HUGE help this year!  I loved having her in the kitchen with me!15.  We celebrate the birth of Jesus – Merry Christmas16.  Our nephew Teddy is born!  He is SUCH an incredible blessing!  17.  We ring in the new year – full of hope for 2017!!!  We are refreshed as a family & it feels really good!  18.  I give up my position as permanent substitute & go back to “regular” subbing – exclusively AT the kid’s school, which was my original goal.  I love having the ability to make my own schedule!  Plus, I’ve started to get back into my workout routine & feel great!19.  We celebrate my Dad’s birthday – with 4 grandchildren!20.  We celebrate Parker’s 7th birthday.  She is the happiest, kindest, most beautiful girl in the world!  We love her SO much!  We celebrated by treating her best girlfriends to lunch & manicures!  It was so much fun!21.  I schedule a NON-elective surgery.  I was diagnosed with an inguinal hernia – boo!  The doctor predicts it was caused by weight lifting.  The surgery itself was quick and laparoscopic, but the recovery was tough and painful!  I start to binge watch Shameless on Netflix during my recovery…it is phenomenal.  22.  We celebrate Easter – ALWAYS a gorgeous day with the family & this one was no different.  It was AWESOME!  23.  School is starting to wind down…..I transitioned over to being a part time instructional assistant in April & I’m going into school daily at 12:15.  Both kids are doing incredible – we’re so proud of them!   We are looking ahead to our LONG family vacation in Naples.  24.  It IS the last day of 1st and 3rd grade for my babies (and last day as an instructional assistant for me).  We made it!  Tons of UPs (and a few downs) over the past school year.  It’s been quite a whirlwind, as you can see!  We’re praying that God continues to bring blessings upon this family & we just CANNOT WAIT for our 3 week getaway next month!  We’re so thankful for the family and friends who have stuck by our side & carried us over the past year!  Now…..cheers to SUMMER BREAK!!!!

(Lastly – a shout out to all of my teacher friends – you ROCK!  I see what you are responsible for doing on a daily basis & want to thank all of you from the bottom of my heart!  Now…..enjoy your time OFF!  )

xoxo – Jamie

Leave a Reply

