Weekend Recap / LAST MONDAY OF SCHOOL!!!

It’s a Monday morning quickie post friends!  We are celebrating because it’s the LAST Monday of school for the 3 of us!  As much as it breaks my heart that I’ll soon have a 4th & 2nd grader, I am SO excited to enjoy summer vacation with the kiddies!!!  The summer calendar is filling quickly & I’m doing my best to keep us super busy until we leave for Naples mid-month!

Our weekend FLEW by like the good ones usually do…..here are a few recaps:

  1.  Friday Night Pizza:  I know, it’s our usual.  This week, however, we did both Naan bread and Flat Out pizzas here.  Mama is tryyyyyying to be good (as days of swim suit-wearing are just around the corner), so I opted for BBQ chicken on a Flat Out & Mac went with pepperoni on garlic Naan (my other two pizza eaters had BBQ chicken too, only they got Colby Jack cheese).  Because I HAD to try Mac’s creation, I’d have to say that both pizza options were pretty amazing.  You cannot go wrong with making your own pizza IF you pre-bake the crust before topping!  I promise, that’s our trick! 
  2. Saturday Road-Tripping / Dinner on the Deck:  Our Saturday morning started off lazy.  I hit the gym for a sweaty cardio session, but then came home to make breakfast, do laundry & watch a few episodes of Shameless while rain moved in & dumped on us for a few hours.  Once the rain started to move out, we hopped in the car to head down to help celebrate Chris’ aunt’s birthday.  We stopped to pick up dinner at The Fresh Market on our way home & ended up deciding on grilled grouper which was AMAZING!  I whipped up sides of cilantro lime rice & green beans and we were set for a fun evening of dining on our deck – tunes compliments of our dear Alexa, of course!  It was a great Saturday!!!!
  3. Sunday Funday:  And what a true Sunday Funday it was – – – filled with a little furniture shopping (we FINALLY bought a new kitchen table – I am SO excited!), lunch, and an afternoon at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway!  I might have mentioned in a previous post that Chris and I are NOT attending the Indianpolis 500 this year.  We are usually pretty dead set on going yearly, but after the BIG celebration for the 100th running last year, we decided to take this year off.  Trust me, I won’t miss the traffic, parking, and crowds!  What I knew I would miss was the sound of those cars, soooo yesterday was a pretty incredible way to make sure I got my Indy Car-fill for the month of May.  It was Poll Day, so we were treated to quite a show as the top 9 drivers duked it out for pole position!  The weather couldn’t have been better, too – – it was GORGEOUS!  Congrats to (my favorite driver) Scott Dixon on winning the pole for the 101th Indy 500!! 

I loooooooove weekends like this one – filled with family, good food & adventures!  My only regret is not seeing my brother on his birthday (Saturday), but he was at a fishing tournament out of state!  I’m looking forward to giving that guy a big hug & celebrating with him next weekend!  I mean, he is truly the best of the best when it comes to brothers.

Hope everyone had a GREAT weekend!  Cheers to the LAST week of school here!

xoxo – Jamie

Leave a Reply

