WANTED: Kitchen Inspiration

It’s been a while since I’ve shared any foodie blog posts – mainly because I feel like ever since my surgery (about 2 weeks ago), I feel like my appetite has been really screwy.  For the first week I had ZERO appetite (very unlike me) & guzzled water like crazy.  Moving into week two, I “started” getting hungry, but had (and currently have) zero inspiration in the kitchen!  Ugh!  Again, so NOT like me!  I started back on my 2 eggs in a mug breakfast this week (my “go to” after my morning workout & before I head into school), but have still been struggling with lunch (I graze!) and hate the thought of dinner-making!  My poor family!  That said, I’m vowing to get back into the kitchen (and back into my gym routine – fingers crossed) with my usual enthusiasm when the kids and I go back to school next week.

Want to check out a few newbie recipes I plan on making?  Please hold me accountable!!!  These sound SO good!

Vodka Sauce Chicken Zucchini Noodles – The hubs and I LOVE zucchini noodles or “zoodles”, and who doesn’t love vodka sauce?  I’ll serve over gluten free pasta for the kiddies….they’re not quite on the zucchini noodle train yet!   Paleo Bang Bang Shrimp Tacos – Do you guys buy the 2 pound bags of frozen shrimp from Fresh Thyme?  It seems like it is on sale at least every other week there & I stock up because it’s SUCH an amazing deal & has also provided us with so many quick & healthy dinners!  We have to try this one because Bang Bang Shrimp at Bonefish is always a must, right?  Whole30 Zuppa Toscana – Since it has yet to really feel like spring here in the Midwest this month, why not try another soup recipe?  This one calls for a can of coconut milk & while I’ve USED the carton version in coffee, etc., I’m assuming this is the real deal, full fat version?  That should be interesting…but delicious!  Asian Chopped Salad with Peanut Dressing – I LOVE a good Asian salad!  I get them whenever it’s an option….lunch or dinner!  Last week I made zoodles with peanut sauce to go with teriyaki baked chicken thighs & they turned out pretty amazing!  Right now my FAVE salad at Panera is one of their newer ones – the Chinese Citrus Chicken & Cashew Salad.  It is SO good – def. try it next time you’re there!  1/2 size is seriously enough, too!  This recipe looks SO easy thanks to the bagged coleslaw mix!  Genius!  IF you have any healthy dinner suggestions – PLEASE feel free to send them my way!  In the meantime, I’ll make sure I get what I need to make these next week when our schedule is back to normal (we’re on “Spring Break” this week)!  As you know, I am sloooooowwwwwwly getting back into my workout routine AS we prepare to head to Florida for 3 glorious weeks this summer, so I’m trying to keep things light & “swimsuit-friendly!”

Happy Tuesday friends!

xoxo – Jamie

Leave a Reply

