Foodie….Monday? Italian Turkey Sausage & Veggie Soup

It seems weird for me to post a foodie recipe on a Monday for some reason – – Foodie Friday sounds so much better, but this recipe could not wait!  I whipped up a huge pot of this Italian Turkey Sausage & Veggie Soup yesterday afternoon & can’t wait to serve it this week….plus enjoy the leftovers for lunch while I’m at school!  So, I wish I could link you up with a specific recipe I used, but I came up with this one myself!  I took a little from this recipe & then a little from that recipe until….VOILA!  My own version of this light & tasty soup!  Here are the details:d49f0be0-5fdd-4d84-ad87-393c6c436da6Ingredients:

1 lb sweet Italian turkey sausage links (remove sausage from casings)

1/2 onion, chopped

3 cloves of garlic, minced

1 cup of diced carrots

1 can of white beans (drained, rinsed)

1 can of Italian style diced tomatoes

1 can of petite diced tomatoes

I large carton of chicken broth

Salt/Pepper/Italian Seasonings (I used Trader Joe’s Pizza blend!)

1 bag of spinach

Directions: 

  1.  Saute onion and garlic in pot with a drizzle of olive oil until soft.  2.  Add turkey sausage & once it starts to brown, add carrots until soft.  3.  Sprinkle with Italian seasonings.  4.  Add both cans of tomatoes, chicken broth, and beans.  5.  Allow soup to come to a boil, reduce heat & let simmer for 20 minutes.  6.  Turn up heat & add 1/2 bag of fresh spinach (or more).  7.  Reduce heat (again) and serve topped with fresh grated parmesan and red pepper flakes.  Enjoy!!!!

*** You can substitute kale for the spinach ***

Click HERE to view a very similar recipe from one of my fave foodie blogs – Iowa Girl Eats!italian-sausage-spinach-and-tomato-soup-iowagirleats-02

 

 

Leave a Reply

