Weekend Recap / Monday Musings

Happy Monday friends!  I’m starting this post at a horrible time (and it will probably take me hours to finish) since the kiddies roll home in about 15 minutes, but….I’ll give it a shot!  I hope everyone had a great weekend – ours sure flew by quickly, as always (and I didn’t even work on Friday)!  Some highlights, however, were:

My Jubilant Return to the Gym – Yes I sure did!  I decided a Body Step class might be the best way to ease back into my group fitness workouts!  Saturday’s 8am class was JUST what the doctor ordered – the PERFECT class to take when slowly returning to my regular workouts.  I could easily modify the couple of exercises I still don’t feel comfortable doing and my goodness it felt awesome to SQUAT and SWEAT!  It’ll probably still be a few weeks before I feel comfortable doing a full Body Pump class, but between getting back into running, doing some light free weights at home and now doing step classes, I just feel so much BETTER!  It’s amazing how much I rely on exercise to keep me sane!  16425804_10212209199529321_7573753152462774975_n

A Beautiful Sunday – If you are here in the Midwest, wasn’t Sunday’s weather so pretty?  I mean, it wasn’t 75 degrees & sunny, but at about 55 and sunny in February, we’ll take it!  I started the day off by “watching” church online in my pj’s with a cup of coffee (not something I do weekly, but every once in a while having the option to watch church service LIVE is SO nice)!  Park and I met up with my mom for lunch, we took Mac to hit balls at the range (about a million of them), and later our little fam hopped in the golf cart & rode over to a friend’s house to visit until the Super Bowl started. 16473899_10212220567773520_4143826082415945369_n16427730_10212225676901245_4012454894291399416_nI had some yummy fare planned for our own little Super Bowl party at home, so once we were back, I put the finishing touches on my queso dip which had been warming in the crockpot & started on my Baked Chicken Tacos AND Sweet Pepper Nachos.  You can find the recipe for the Baked Chicken Nachos here. oven-baked-spicy-chicken-tacos-4-of-14And, as for the Sweet Pepper Nachos – this was a recipe inspired by a Skinnytaste original recipe I saw only a picture of on Facebook!  Here’s what I did:

  1.  I seeded and sliced an entire bag of sweet mini peppers in half & put them open side up on a baking sheet.
  2. I used the seasoned chicken from the oven baked chicken taco recipe & spooned this inside the pepper halves.
  3. I topped the peppers with a bit of Mexican blend cheese.
  4. I popped ’em in the oven (400-ish) until the cheese melted & then topped with “nacho toppings” like:  avocado, black olives, sliced jalapenos, and sour cream.  mini-pepper-nachosThese recipes were insanely good & definitely filled our bellies as we watched the big game (and all of its fun commercials – the “Bai, Bai, Bai” Justin Timberlake commercial was my personal fave)!!  We went to bed entirely too late, but had so much fun here at home!  We’re such home bodies!

A Magical Monday – I didn’t work today, so I feel like I was blessed with a second Sunday added to my weekend (minus children), so that was SUPER nice!  Once my (tired) little people were out the door, I headed back to the gym for an “Express” step class & then came home to get busy cleaning and getting ready for the “week” ahead.  I managed to convince my dear friend Tracy to meet me for a gel manicure “break” too!  This all made for a pretty awesome Monday!  I actually think people would be in much better moods in general IF they didn’t have to work on Mondays!  It sure got my week started out on the right foot!

I hope you all had a wonderful weekend!  Cheers to another great week leading up to my little lady’s birthday!

xoxo – Jamie

 

Leave a Reply

