Cooking With The Pioneer Woman: A Recipe Review

pioneer-woman-chicken-parm

You guys know I love trying new recipes – especially recipes I think my entire family will enjoy!  Parker and I are HUGE fans of The Pioneer Woman – Ree Drummond.  We record her TV show on The Food Network & typically watch them while we make dinner.  We laugh because we feel like we know all of her kids, her husband Ladd & even her dogs!  We LOVE her!  It’s obvious, too, that fame hasn’t gone to that pretty red head!  In fact, I’m certain that if we were to meet, we’d be quick friends!  Haha!

We caught an episode not long ago where she whipped up a “lighter” chicken parmesan for her boys.  I KNEW my family would LOVE everything about this dish, BUT I also knew that I could take the “lightened up” part a bit further!  Find the original recipe here:  http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ree-drummond/lighter-chicken-parmesan.html wu1504h_lighter-chicken-parmesan_s4x3-jpg-rend-sni12col-landscape

Now for MY modifications…..you ready?

  1.  I saw no need to use egg whites only.  We are WHOLE egg lovers in this household, so into the bowl went two whole eggs for coating.
  2. I used whole wheat panko, but only 1/4 cup PLUS much more fresh grated parmesan cheese (plus some Italian seasoning).
  3. After I coated the chicken tenders, I BAKED them in the oven at 425 degrees until they were a little brown & crispy.
  4. I had my tomato sauce WITH balsamic bubbling on the stove & then transferred the chicken tenders directly into the sauce, sprinkled the tops with mozzarella cheese & covered the pan until the cheese had melted.

Served alongside an “Italian Salad” (romaine, chickpeas, red pepper, kalamata olives, tomatoes, cucumbers, sunflower seeds & homemade balsamic dressing), and atop gluten-free pasta (for the kiddies), this dish was a WINNER for the entire family!  I can’t wait to make it again!

Definitely give it a whirl & let me know what you think!

Happy Thursday!

xoxo – Jamie

Leave a Reply

