BMW Championship Recap

Good morning & Happy Monday!!!  I’m up early to blog about our near-perfect day at the BMW Championship yesterday!  While it was hard for me to wait until Sunday (the last day of the tournament) to attend, I’m pretty sure it turned out to be the BEST day to attend because the weather was PERFECT!  As I’ve explained in previous posts, attending professional golf tournaments is probably one of my favorite things to do…..with my golf-loving husband of course!  We started the tradition of going to this particular tournament years ago when it first came to Crooked Stick golf course in Carmel & have followed it from here to Lake Forest, IL (Conway Farms) ever since!  They are our two fave locations!  If you are a BMW-owner there are MANY perks to take advantage of, including free tournament round tickets, special parking, special shuttle service/admission (no long lines at the gates) & admission to the BMW Owners Pavilion at the course.  BMW definitely goes out of their way  with these special perks!  We take advantage of them every year & yesterday was no exception!

You guys know I stressed about my outfit for the day since we had had torrential downpours here in Indy leading up to Sunday’s final round.  While I considered pulling out my Hunter boots to combat the mud and wetness, I’m so glad I decided to just go with this because it ended up being perfect:  white tank, black Lululemon Wunder Under crops (favorite pants ever), gray cardigan, black Nike Free’s & my favorite camo Titleist hat!

bmw-champs-3

 

So, after almost bumping into Jason Day, who was making his way into the tournament for his round, we walked the course a bit – – saw Jordan Spieth close up while he was putting on the practice green & then settled into GREAT seats at the BMW Owners Pavilion.  We enjoyed some drinks (they had DELICIOUS mimosas), a little lunch & saw some of my favorites come through….Rory McIlroy & Phil Mickelson.  You’d be surprised by how much SMALLER some of these men are in person vs. watching them on TV.  Jason Day is TINY (but super fit) & Rory, although he looks super strong, he doesn’t look nearly as big as he does on TV.  After sitting for close to 2 hours (hey – it was perfect up there), we decided to walk a bit more & find the leaders….which didn’t take long!

bmw-champs

We quickly found Dustin Johnson – another one of my faves (when Tiger’s not playing, of course) & I’m so glad he went on to win the tournament!  Congrats Dustin!  All in all, it was a GREAT day at Crooked Stick with my hubs!  We so needed a “day off” like that & are so thankful we could rely on my parents to spend a fun day with our kiddies!  We’re looking forward to traveling up to Conway Farms again next year!  Lake Forest, IL is truly one of my favorite places!

bmw-champs-2

Back to the grind (and school) today!  I hope you all had a WONDERFUL weekend & are ready for a GREAT week ahead!

xoxo – Jamie

Leave a Reply

