Foodie Friday: School Edition

TGIF friends!  We’ve made it through the first FULL week of school!  YAY!  It’s been a great, but exhausting week!  Of course we’re all still adjusting to our new schedule around here, so I’m hopeful it will get easier & easier as the year goes on.  I mean, it has to, right?  That said, I’m trying my very hardest to balance everything – family, work, friends, fitness, household chores & blogging!  While I had good intentions of a What I Ate Wednesday post & even snapped all of the photos to go along with it, it kind of rolled into today’s post which is – Foodie Friday:  School Edition.  Whoops!  Good intentions, I tell ya!

What I had forgotten about from last year was the 100% lack of time there is to EAT at school!  I mean, it’s not like I can whip out some rice cakes & hummus during a math lesson & snack because I’m hungry!  My summertime was frequent and satisfying, while my school year eating is random, and very quick!  Here’s a look at what I mean – this was Wednesday’s “what I ate:”

foodie friday - school edition

  1.  My morning coffee  – of course.
  2.  Breakfast:  2 coffee mug microwave scrambled, 1/4 avocado & hot sauce.
  3.  Mid-morning “sneaky” snack (I ate pieces of this while the kids were  working on an assignment!)  My current fave Larabar flavor is Mocha  Chip!
  4.  Lunch:  Chopped salad (thank you Dole) with rotisserie chicken (thank  you Fresh Thyme), sunflower seeds, leftover grilled sweet peppers &  balsamic dressing.
  5. Dinner:  Crockpot Salsa Chicken over lettuce with avocado, more salsa, and sour cream

That’s IT, folks!  Definitely a change for this body coming off summer & eating pretty much whenever I wanted!  YIKES!  I HAVE started hauling some fresh fruit with me & sneaking that during down times in class (no one has complained yet – and kids are the very FIRST to notice stuff like this)!  I’m sure I’ll get used to it & probably should appreciate the instant portion control that comes with having to consume lunch in a mere 30 minutes or less!  But, I AM curious – teaching friends, what are your “go to” sneaky snacks and/or meals?  Is this how you eat during the week, too?  This girl is STARVING!

Of course….moving forward with this “Foodie Friday” I’m deep into our Friday Night Pizza-making, so I am signing off quickly before a few guests arrive!

I hope everyone’s had a great week!  Cheers to the weekend!

xoxo – Jamie

 

Leave a Reply

